10:40 – Home for good this time?

16 Feb

I’m almost slightly scared to say this but… Charlie dog is home again after being back staying in the vets since Monday. I brought him home last night and I’m very much hoping that this time is for good and when we go for his check up on Monday morning there won’t be anything else needing repaired. Hopefully it’s just going to be a case of allowing his stitches to heal and slowly building him back up to full strength. He is really skinny at the moment and I hate it, he’s lost around 2kg but he only was about 9kg to start with so (to me anyway) it’s pretty noticeable.

I haven’t really done much over the past couple of days so this is just a little ramble…

The student support advisor emailed me back re: my concerns about being so far behind now and how I didn’t want to drop out of the course but at the same time I couldn’t manage the heavier workload this semester. So we have come up with the solution that I drop one of my modules this semester to lessen the workload and then I will re-take that module this time next year. It is still to be approved by the degree leader but we think it should work out OK that way. It just means that semester one and two next year are both going to be heavy workloads but I’m very much hoping that by the time September starts my head will be in a better position to cope with more studying but I’ll cross that bridge when I come to it.

So I have managed to do almost all of week 2’s work over the past few days by just putting my iPod in and turning it up nice and loud to drown out any head noise. Music without any words in seems to work best for studying or else I find myself in the middle of reading articles and taking notes then I realise I’m writing down the lyrics I’m hearing! I think if I can get about five hours studying done over the course of today then that should be week 2’s work completed. But Monday is the start of week 4 and there is no way I’m going to get all of week 3’s work completed tomorrow, however if I can just sit here and force myself to study then it’s possible to get week 3’s work finished mid-week and actually start week 4’s work whilst we are still on week 4.

Did that even make any sense?!

I’m feeling pretty tired at the moment as I’m back doing Charlie’s strict diet and medication schedule which starts at 8am and finishes at midnight so I got about six and a half hours sleep. But then I take my morning Quetiapine dose and a couple of hours later (like right now) I begin to feel like a bit of a zombie and my brain feels like mush. So even though this would be perfect timing to get some studying done – the dogs have been up and fed and out for a walk – but I’ve put my pj’s back on and all I want to do is go back to bed for a couple of hours. I can’t though as Charlie needs more medication in ten minutes then some more an hour later. I have a feeling it’s going to be a long day! But I’m back in that zone again where I know I have to care for Charlie and I guess it’s a bit like caring for a sick baby – they can’t tell you what’s wrong or what bit hurts so you just have to do everything the doctor/vet tells you to do to make them better. And when I am in this mode it does help me manage the head noise a little bit better because I’m constantly so distracted, yet at the same time when the head noise wants to be louder than everything else then it fucking does.

Anyways…maybe I will waken up a bit and become slightly less zombified as the day goes on. I think some sweet tea is in order to perk me up a bit. I’ve set little goals in my head to do an hour’s studying each time Charlie has an hour between medications and that way it spreads it out over the day rather than sitting here trying to cram in as much as possible until my head feels close to exploding. So we shall see if that approach works!

And on that note it’s 10.30am and time for Charlie’s 3rd dose of morning medications so I’d better go and sort him out. My cupboard currently resembles a small pharmacy with all his meds and all of mine. The vet was even kind enough to colour code all of his boxes of meds (simply because there are so many of them) so that makes life a little bit easier!

Hope you’re all managing to have a good Saturday 🙂

2 Responses to “10:40 – Home for good this time?”

  1. The Quiet Borderline (back in hospital) February 16, 2013 at 10:58 #

    Rooting for you!! Wishing you and Charlie the best… Best of luck with your uni work and hope Charlie gets to stay at home now. X

Leave a Reply

