09:29 – Some random stats

13 Dec

As it’s my blog’s second birthday I thought I’d look back over some of the stats. In two years:

  • I have written 499 posts (this is number 500!)
  • I’ve received 1209 comments
  • Akismet has binned 6177 spam comments
  • The blog’s had 51,851 views
  • The busiest day was May 28th 2011 when I had 314 hits
  • This is my most commented post with 23 comments on it
  • The lovely Clarissa has left the most comments here
  • The most common search term apart from ‘my crazy bipolar life’ and similar is ‘downward spiral’ – something so many of us can relate to
  • Some of the more strange search terms that brought people to my blog were ‘is redecorating a lot a mental disorder?’ – ‘alaska psychologist lost drivers license’ and the wonderful line from the film Saw that I ask myself so much ‘live or die make your choice’.
  • January 2011 was the busiest month on here with 3746 views that month
  • The blog has 994 followers

Two years ago today I wrote my very first blog post. Back then the main problems in my life were my constant self harming behaviours and being completely trapped in a constant state of depression and locked in an agoraphobic world. I couldn’t even walk along the little street of shops without experiencing severe anxiety. Now I can get to the psych hospital which is 62 miles away and that is huge progress for me (even if it is only one road I can now travel on).

As I moved into 2010 the psychosis became a lot more obvious, I was (and still do) hear voices instructing me on what I should do and making me paranoid of everything and everyone. By the end of 2010 I had been detained under the mental health act for the first time and pretty much spent Nov 2010 – Feb 2011 in hospital. Since then I’ve had a few more admissions but all for only a few weeks here and there. My self harming behaviour hasn’t stopped but it isn’t as constant or intense as it was two years ago. In the past two years I have been to the very edge and back, life is far from peachy but step by step I’m making little bits of progress.

I have tried a few different medications in the past two years including the mood stabilisers Sodium Valproate, Gabapentin then Lamotrigine which I didn’t get any side effects from. I was on the anti-psychotic Seroquel but reached the maximum dose of 750mg a day and swapped to one called Amisulpride. It is and will forever be my nightmare medication. It made me so restless I was pacing all the time to stay calm, I started sleep walking, I felt so itchy in my own skin. Now I take Olanzapine, my dose is increasing today to 10mg, I think I may still have a way to go before it begins to work as so far I feel nothing from it. Currently my medications are Olanzapine, Lamotrigine, Citalopram and Diazepam which keep me semi-stable.

So there’s the short version of my last two years, it’s been a long journey with so many emotions along the way. There’s been tears and laughs, suicidal times and slightly manic ones, confusion, desperation, despair, friendships. I’ve watched my family pull itself together and all work as a team when I’ve been in hospital, always there for me and never judged by them.

And as this little ramble is supposed to be about my blog it’s important that I mention all the wonderful people I have met through it in the past two years. All of you who haven’t judged me, all of you who have cared and shared in my journey.

Thank you all so much for just being you. I look forward to the year ahead and to finding out where I am this time next year in my life.

4 Responses to “09:29 – Some random stats”

  1. The Quiet Borderline December 13, 2011 at 10:38 #

    Congratulations again on your blog anniversary!

    Keep staying strong and being upfront and honest.

    The Quiet Borderline
    http://quietbpd.wordpress.com/

  2. Pandora December 13, 2011 at 12:16 #

    Reading the positivity in this post really made me smile.

    You rock! ❤ xxx

  3. James Claims December 13, 2011 at 15:56 #

    Congratulations on making it for 2 years. Those are some impressive stats.

Leave a Reply

