17:37 – I don’t really deserve a compassionate mind

24 May

I thought I better write a little post as a few people have sent me emails and dm’s on twitter to check I was still alive. I am, although there have been a few occasions over the past couple of weeks where I have wished that wasn’t the case.

Since I last posted I have got my new washing machine, seen very little of best friend as she’s all loved up with a new man in her life, gone to my appointment with the dietician, gone to one appointment with CPN#2 (but then didn’t turn up to my appointments with CPN#2 or support worker this week).

Where to start? Hmm… Well I have taken a lot of advice on board that the dietician gave me. She told me she had gone and done some reading about my medications and their side effects and I was pleased that she said she wouldn’t be expecting me to lose weight as fast as other people as the combination of 750mg Quetiapine (Seroquel) each day, the Mirtazapine and the Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome (PCOS) would all slow my weight loss down. She weighed me and said I am about 3 and a half stone overweight (around 50lbs for my friends across the pond) but she is only expecting me to lose at around 1lb a week, normally she’d aim for 2-3lbs a week. So it’s going to be slow and steady. I have another appointment with her on June 14th and hoping to have lost a few lbs by then.

I have completely changed my eating habits over the past week and have been eating only fresh fruit, vegetables, salads and wholegrain breads and cereals. I haven’t had one single chocolate bar or packet of crisps since I saw her which has been hard going at times especially on the days I’ve been feeling crappy because I don’t feel like I deserve to make myself nice foods, I deserve to eat junk and be fat and disgusting and it’s very very hard to fight back against that. I think that is another reason why I didn’t go to my appointments this week, because when I did see CPN#2 last she had spoken to the psychologist (that I’m on the waiting list to go back and see) and psychologist wants to try the Paul Gilbert ‘Compassionate Mind’ program with me again, now that my life isn’t so chaotic that I’m a psych hospital revolving door patient.

The idea of being compassionate towards myself is so fucking alien. It is natural for me to think negatively towards myself and I really don’t know if I’ll be able to do this compassionate mind stuff. Deep down I know that no matter what treatment we try or what help I get I’m still going to be the same ugly horrible person who deserves nothing good. And in a way I sometimes think I don’t even want any help just in case I do get caught letting my guard down and for a tiny moment think that maybe I am worth something. Nobody seems to understand that it is instinctive to punish myself and make myself suffer, thinking of being nice to myself makes me feel anxious and horribly uncomfortable.

My mood states seem to be changing between seriously depressed and feeling ‘ok’ every few days if not every few hours. Sometimes I just find myself sitting here and for no obvious reason bursting into tears. I’ve been really quite emotional for a good couple of months now, never in front of people, but the smallest thing on the television or even reading a friend’s Facebook status will set me off. Then I get frustrated with myself because I don’t even know what I’m crying about and angry at myself for thinking it is OK to cry. It’s not OK, I don’t deserve to express my feelings that way, I deserve to express my sad feelings by dragging a blade through my flesh. To be honest it is actually easier to cut than to cry, cutting just doesn’t seem to have as many emotions attached to it yet it seems to clear my mind for a while, whereas crying just leaves me even more of a mess than when I started.

Anyway… moving on…

I got some good news this morning. I got my essay results back for my university module that I have been struggling so massively with. They weren’t due until the first week of June so it came as a bit of a surprise. I passed with 65% which is a good grade B, although because I didn’t take part in the other assessed part of the module it pulled my overall pass mark down to 52% which is a C. I’m just relieved it is over and that I am now on my Summer break. When we start back at the end of August I have opted to try and do two modules per semester so I still get my six first year modules completed within two years. I don’t know if I’ll manage to cope with that workload but I guess I can only try it and see how I get on. I think it helps if the modules are about something you find interesting and enjoy learning about, the first module I did I really enjoyed so it made it a lot easier to understand but this module I’ve just finished I wasn’t remotely interested in, so it all felt like it just went over my head most of the time.

I was going to start talking about something else that’s been going on lately but I’m already rambling and it probably needs a blog post all of it’s own, the short version is that I have been thinking a lot about finding a faith again. I know it wasn’t that long ago that I was talking about going to church and finding God but I keep on coming back to the same point again. I decided to speak to a devoted Christian a few days ago and the first thing she asked me was why I wanted God in my life. My answer was simple, I want to believe my baby son is in Heaven which means that to believe in a Heaven I have to believe in a God. She answered just as simply back -

“your baby boy will be in Heaven, there is no doubt about it because he was pure and innocent and never sinned – if you want to have any chance that you will be reunited with him then you have to live your life as God would want you to and only then will He decide where you will go when you die – but make no mistakes, if you don’t live your life for God then you have no chance of getting into Heaven”.

So that feels like a massive pressure on me now. There are so many things I do which would be classed as sinning. I definitely don’t live my life in the way that God would be pleased with. If he is real and his son Jesus died on the cross for us then what must he think when I cut up the body He created or even try to kill that body? What must He think when I’ve been in times where I can’t cope and have turned to drink or drugs to block it out? What must He think when I’ve been a bit manic and spending money recklessly or having sex with some random person? There are sooo many things I do wrongly, in God’s eyes and I have found myself on more than one occasion asking for His forgiveness. But again I come back to ‘what I deserve’, and I deserve to hurt and be punished. I deserve to suffer. I don’t think I even deserve God but the idea that I may never be reunited with my beautiful little boy is too painful to bear, it really is (oh here we go, tears running down my face again).

Anyway… I guess I have rambled on long enough and also I’m finding it hard to stick to a point I just seem to be blabbering on all over the place. My head’s a bit pickled, it’s up then down, up and down. I don’t know what I’m going to feel from one moment to the next. The fact that I’m self isolating again is a sign things aren’t great, the constant thoughts of self harming probably also show things aren’t great. But I am keeping it very superficial purely because I cannot face A&E right now. I barely leave the house apart from to walk the dogs and I try to see people the smallest amount possible. I’m making excuses up all the time as to why I can’t do this or go there and it’s funny because the less texts I reply to and the more times I ignore calls, the less and less those texts and calls come through. It’s as if people can see I just cannot be bothered so they are just leaving me alone. Which is good and it is what I want, yet it does make me feel even more isolated and lonely. And that feeds the ‘I don’t deserve it anyway’ thoughts more and more.

So it looks like it’s going to be a quiet bank holiday weekend for me. At least we have some sunshine at the moment and I can go and hide sitting on the beach while the dogs play around and have no one bothering me… Speaking of the doggys it is time for them to get their dinner and go another little walk soon so I’ll stop rambling now and and wish you all a nice weekend instead…

6 Responses to “17:37 – I don’t really deserve a compassionate mind”

  1. Amanda S. July 30, 2013 at 21:56 #

    The cool thing about God? He forgives all of that stuff and gives us the strength to live a different way. He’s not hateful nor does He hold it against you. I find that my faith helps me deal with my bipolar. Please let me know if you’d like to discuss faith matters further. (p.s.- I found your blog through another mental health blog that I read. I was diagnosed with bipolar 2 two years ago. Your writing is very deep!)

  2. Caroline July 31, 2013 at 21:39 #

    I agree with Amanda. God does not judge you nor condemn you. He LOVES YOU and he would want you to start loving yourself. God has a plan for us all and, before you know it, you will be able to cope with your BP much better. I, too, have a weight problem and I’m diabetic. I self-harm by eating cakes, biscuits, chocolate etc so that I get fat and even uglier (I’m not ugly btw – just think I am) and perhaps lose my sight or limbs ( a classic symptom of diabetes). I’ve tried self-harming by taking overdoses (10 times); walking in front of a taxi (in hospital for 5 days) and attempting to cut my wrists. Do you think, after all these failed attempts, that I should have died – NO!! God is protecting me and giving me the chance to live again.I found my faith just 3 years ago and God is the best thing that has ever happened to me. I was Baptised by full immersion on 14th august 2010 and was even dancing when I came out of the water!! THAT is how God affects us. He has the ability to make us happy even when we do not want to be happy. Instead of thinking about self-harming, go and listen to UCB UK or Contemporary Christian Music (eg Matt Redman; Susan Ashton; Mandate – to name just a few) or read your Bible (which is God’s stories for us on how to live our lives). I wish you all the best and you are in my thought s & prayers. Gods Blessings to you xx

    • mycrazybipolarlife August 1, 2013 at 13:52 #

      Hi Amanda and Caroline…

      Thank you both for your supportive and kind words. I do (sometimes desperately) want to try and find my faith again, but it’s hard. I find myself always coming back to this point of not believing I am worthy of God’s love because I probably don’t live my life in a way that he would be very happy with. I do some praying when I’m alone but seem to have constant silent prayers in my head one after the other. I want SO much to believe 110% that God is there, listening to me and hearing those silent prayers but I guess only time will tell. Sorry if this sounds a bit negative, I’m struggling with my low moods and anxiety a lot at the moment and my head is all over the place. But anyway, thank you both for commenting and I hope you’ll continue to read :)

      xxx

      • Amanda August 2, 2013 at 00:06 #

        He’s listening. I promise!

  3. Amanda August 2, 2013 at 00:11 #

    And by the way I think your friend gave you poor advice! The way you get into heaven is by believing and accepting that Jesus is the risen Son of God! He doesn’t pick and choose who gets in based on how we live! Thank Him because I’d be in trouble too! And I do believe your son is up there waiting to see you again one day!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,816 other followers

