12:17 – Look who’s home!

10 Feb
Charlie Dog

Charlie Dog

 

Look who’s home! This is my tough little cookie who has had us all so worried over the past week. As you can see his stomach is very bruised, it also has staples all the way down. And he still has a cannula in under his paw bandage. But I got to bring him home about 6pm yesterday and whilst we’re taking things slowly and gently he is doing really well. He’s on a strict special diet and medication schedule which starts at 8am each day and finishes at midnight and he’s on five different medications which have to be given at specific times throughout the day, so the next couple of weeks are going to be hard work. But it will all be worth it :)

He’s pretty good at taking his medication but the one thing he’s not happy about is having to wear a basket muzzle but he will have to get used to it as he will be wearing one for the rest of his life when we are out for walks. I hate the way people already have been looking at him like he must be a bad or dangerous dog, I want to put a big badge on him saying “I’m not a bad doggy, I’ve got to wear this so I don’t eat anything off the ground again!”

So he’s not completely out of the woods yet but after a week of living at the vets he seems happy to be home and he’s managed to pass two bowel movements (sorry TMI!) since he got home last night which was the next goal for him so when the vet phoned late last night to see how he was doing she was delighted to hear that as it means everything is working properly inside :) I’ve to take him in just to be checked over tomorrow and he’ll need his staples out in about a week’s time.

Having so much going on with Charlie dog meant I stayed busy all night and didn’t have too much time to dwell on the fact I was missing my cousin’s wedding. But a couple of people uploaded some photo’s to Facebook and I must admit I did have a little bit of a cry, but every time I looked and saw both my fur babies snuggled up it made me feel a bit better.

Tomorrow is my little boy’s 6th anniversary. I will stay up late tonight until it gets to 1.24am when I will light a candle to mark the moment he was born. I dare say there will be some tears but I guess that’s to be expected. I will go up to the cemetery with some pretty flowers between 2 and 4pm tomorrow as that’s the only two hour period where Charlie doesn’t need any medication. It’s going to be a bit of a tough day as it’s obviously extremely emotional for me but I need to try and hold it together whilst I go to the vets and then go and see my brother with his birthday present and I need to try and put a smile on my face for that.

Back to today… It is a new week of university work starting tomorrow and I haven’t even looked at this current week’s work so I’m going to have to spend all day today trying to catch up. I just can’t seem to concentrate but if I don’t catch up now then I’ll end up falling further and further behind so somehow I’m going to have to force myself to sit and do it. It doesn’t help that one of the psychology modules I’ve just started is all about stuff I find really hard to get my head around – like this week is all about historical theories and how they have developed over time and to be honest I’ve got no interest in that stuff whatsoever. But I guess I need to learn it so I can understand how we got to the more modern theories.

It’s going to be a challenge to care for Charlie round the clock, to try and get through the emotions that tomorrow will bring, trying to keep my head from getting too noisy and/or crazy and catch up and stay on track with my studying. Maybe I should try and take some inspiration from Charlie dog – he was fighting for his little life over Tuesday and Wednesday and has had such a tough time but he’s fighting as hard as he can to get through it all one day at a time. And perhaps that’s what I need to do – try and catch up a bit then take everything one day at a time – stop worrying about the if’s, but’s and maybe’s and just do the best I can. So on that note I guess it’s time to open up my notebook and try to get some reading done.

Hope you’re all having a good weekend :)

2 Responses to “12:17 – Look who’s home!”

  1. eliana February 10, 2013 at 12:27 #

    That’s great news! It must be so nice to have him back at home – here’s hoping he makes a speedy recovery.

    Take care,
    Eliana

  2. The Quiet Borderline (back in hospital) February 10, 2013 at 16:59 #

    Hi dear.

    So glad to hear that Charlie is doing well – ah, me and my sister had a beautiful cat called Charlie – cute name. Hope he gets stronger and stronger.

    And my thoughts are with you on the anniversary of the little one. Lighting a candle is a very nice thing to do. We do that in my religion. It is VERY meaningful. It represents remembering someone’s soul and lighting a flame takes that soul, that spark, and lifts it up to the highest level of heaven but also brings the soul close to you in this world. (Sorry, that was a bit full on – but really, it’s a wonderful thing to do).

    Take care and be strong xx

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,828 other followers

