20:52 – Craziness ‘on hold’

4 Aug

After my last post I knew I couldn’t carry on feeling so unstable. It was getting far too dangerous and far too likely that I was going to act on the thoughts. So I phoned the out of hours doctors and told them that my mood has been very low for the past couple of days and I knew it was heading to a place I didn’t want to go to. The person on the phone was really nice and understanding and said I had done the right thing by phoning them for help rather than hurting myself and phoning with an emergency. They made an appointment for me for 8.10pm to see the out of hours doctor at the local a&e.

It was a male doctor I’ve not seen before, I explained the situation to him and he was a bit concerned that I was coming home alone and that if my mood carried on getting lower there would be no one here to stop me acting on it. I tried my best to reassure him that if I could just calm down then I would be OK. I just needed the racing thoughts and extreme anxiety to calm down.

He checked my blood pressure and pulse, both of which were sky high and he agreed to give me some Lorazepam. So he gave me 2mg at the hospital, 2mg to take at bedtime and a spare 2mg in case I need them during the night or something. He was actually very nice and said to come back straight away if I felt like the medicine wasn’t doing enough to help me rather than hurt myself.

So I’ve had my Quetiapine, Citalopram, Diazepam and Lorazepam. Everything is still racing but ever so slightly slower now enabling me to write all this down. Hopefully in the next half an hour or so I will be able to breathe normally again and my heart won’t feel like it’s about to jump out my chest and I’ll be able to think straight again.

For the moment my craziness is on hold, I hope and pray it calms down soon, I can’t handle much more of feeling this way.

3 Responses to “20:52 – Craziness ‘on hold’”

  1. Ian August 4, 2012 at 21:03 #

    :-) glad your ok, sorry I havent been in touch much….bit mad over here at the moment. Take care of yourself x

  2. The Quiet Borderline (back in hospital) August 5, 2012 at 04:24 #

    Well done you. Seriously. You are looking after yourself which is the main important thing to do. I (heart) you.

    Sending my prayers and positive thoughts. Chin up!

  3. Bev August 6, 2012 at 00:53 #

    I have. No idea why a person would reduce themselves to slashing themselves. It is behind my comprehension. But then, we all have our way of coping. I myself went through ect treatments which did not help, just terrified the hell out of me, but not the depression. That took its own time with support from groups, family and some, not all, friends. Depression is dastardly, and I believe you have to find the root cause of it which can sometimes take some doing. Journal writing was my saving grace and I would highly advise it, if anything, it keeps your mind occupied and this can.t be a bad thing. The last comment I would like to make is :be gentle and patient with yourself, as hard as that sometimes can be,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,821 other followers

