13:06 – Well that was a surprise!

18 Jul

I have been wanting a kitten for months now but there have been none for sale/free to good homes in my area the whole time I’ve been looking. A couple of days ago I saw a little black cat called Tiff who is 15 months old but her owner was no longer able to keep her. Now – she isn’t a kitten which I wanted, she is pure black when I wanted a tabby or tortoiseshell, and her owner lived down one of the big scary roads that I haven’t attempted in years. The round trip was about 100 miles.

Something made me want Tiff and I phoned the owner and explained my situation about the agoraphobic stuff, to my surprise her husband suffered from it as well! So she completely understood and instantly I felt the pressure on me drop. I told her I was going to try and get there and set off with best friend and her two little kids in tow, I took only a small amount of Diazepam and plugged my iPod into my stereo so I could listen to music whilst I was feeling OK, but change it to the mindfulness tracks when I started panicking. We had one episode that lasted about 20 minutes where I had to keep the woman just telling me how to breathe, if anyone had looked at me they would have thought I was in labour as my full focus was on my breath.

But it worked! And eventually we got there! And because I made it there and back I no longer feel like the massive huge failure I felt for not being able to get to the dermatologist on Monday.

So before I go I just have one last thing to say and that is – meet Tiff! – I need to take a better photo of her but I interrupted her cleaning routine to get this photo so I’ll wait ’til she is curled up later. And the best thing is she has been in a house with dogs so she will come and sit on my knee and let the dogs play with her. She is starting to come out of her shell now and I think she’s going to be really happy here!

Hi I’m Tiff!

 

7 Responses to “13:06 – Well that was a surprise!”

  1. jermec July 18, 2012 at 13:16 #

    Beautiful. Good work.

  2. Zoë Smith July 18, 2012 at 13:45 #

    Excellence and a kitten- what a fab day.

    Tiff is lovely, you’re a star.

    Xxx

  3. crazybeanrider July 18, 2012 at 19:22 #

    I think it’s great you conquered your fear and found such a wonderful friend in the process. Tiff is a beauty.

  4. Narky July 19, 2012 at 10:37 #

    She is lovely. And well done for doing that journey. :)

  5. The Quiet Borderline (back in hospital) July 19, 2012 at 14:39 #

    What a cutie pie – Enjoy her!

    There’s more that one blogger with a new kitten.

    And that’s no coincidence that her husband is suffering with the same mental health problems that you are dealing with. So glad (if you see what I mean) that that happened like that so it made you more comfortable.

    Post some more pics :)

  6. escapingdarkness July 25, 2012 at 02:33 #

    What a beautiful kitty. I have two cats, one is black (you can see a pic on my blog) and the other tabby. They are such great company, great therapy, so relaxing. I love having them around. Enjoy your beautiful Tiff. Kat :)

  7. Flabbergasted Mom July 27, 2012 at 02:43 #

    That is one seriously adorable kitty!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,820 other followers

