16:57 – Good session with social worker

5 May

I went to see my social worker yesterday (Friday) and took along the housing transfer forms. We spent the hour getting them all filled out (well she asked me the questions and filled out the form for me) and she is going to write a supporting letter to go in with it. I’m not looking for a super urgent move or anything, I may have to wait a good while before something suitable comes up. There is also a thing called mutual exchange where two tenants basically swap tenancies and exchange homes, so something might come up there.

I have applied for a house only and for it to be either a one or two bedroom property. I think I would be so much happier with my own front door and little garden. I can’t tell you how much I dream about this little garden, how happy I think I would be if I could sit outside and let the dogs play with their toys. If I could sit outside in the sun and read a magazine. If I didn’t have to worry every time I closed my door to walk down the stairs and outside who I might have to pass in the stairwell and whether or not they are going to get inside my head and send me into super paranoia mode. I can’t be bothered with my next door neighbour’s random parties or phoning the police on him for fights in the stairwell. I’m sick of getting letters about things like dog dirt in the communal garden when I’m never responsible for it. I’m sick of living next door to someone who just gets drunk then kicks his door in rather than using a key.

In one sense I love my flat. I have been in it six years this month and it’s such a good location in terms of living right in the little town and having all the shops that I need right on my doorstep. On the other hand it gets noisy when pubs kick out and I have about an hour where I just sit feeling panicked with all the shouting outside, where I have to make sure all three locks on my door are locked, where I can end up almost praying for everyone just to fuck off away from outside my flat and leave me in peace.

So I have applied for a house about a mile from here next to where my parents are. It will be better for them to be just around the corner and I think I would be much more likely to follow my crisis plan and let Mum come and stay over if I knew she was just around the corner. It wouldn’t make me feel like I was being such a burden on her. I have already written to the council and asked them if they would cover the housing benefit for an extra bedroom which they have agreed to do. I don’t care if it’s a one bedroom or two bedroom place I get offered, just to have my own little house with it’s own little garden is all I want.

So I’m going to see my social worker on Tuesday and get the forms back with her supporting letter and then go hand it in to the council and then sit back and wait. In the meantime I need to either find the motivation to paint this place myself or ask someone to come and help me. It could do with a lick of paint in each room to cover up all the plaster marks on the walls where they did the electrical rewiring. I will wait and see what the response is to my housing application before I decide whether or not to spend the money to re-floor this flat.

It’s time for a change of scenery, for a new little home, the dogs would love it and I would love it so fingers crossed there is someone out there also looking to swap or that I will be placed onto the transfer list and won’t have to wait years to get an offer! I will be sad to leave this flat when the time comes but my future is what matters and maybe getting away from all the bad memories of this flat and a complete new start is just what I need.

2 Responses to “16:57 – Good session with social worker”

  1. jermec May 5, 2012 at 17:50 #

    I wish you all the luck in the world with this. What you have described sounds great. I think it’s your turn now to have something good happen. x

  2. The Quiet Borderline May 5, 2012 at 19:47 #

    Sounds good! Wishing you good luck! Let us know how things progress.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,827 other followers

