Amisulpride anyone?

3 Oct

Had review today. He wants me reassessed cos he thinks I actually have schizo affective disorder. We are cutting my quetiapine down by 100mg a day and once down to 350mg going to change over to amisulpride. On phone as still in bin, hallucinations are awful, total paranoid mess, very emotional, told him I feel like I’m going mad, his reply was

that I’m not mad, I’m psychotic right now. Hardly any phone battery left, hoping to see parents tomoro. But back to my original question, have any of you taken amisulpride and can you tell me the pros and cons cos ive never evenheard of it. Thanks xx

Posted from WordPress for Android – HTC Desire

3 Responses to “Amisulpride anyone?”

  1. werehorse October 3, 2011 at 19:54 #

    I’m on amisulpride. It’s an effective anti psychotic for me – far more than quetiapine ever was. Doesn’t seem sedating – in fact to start with it disturbed my sleep. But it has raised my prolactin levels very high and apparently is one of the worst aap’s for this.

    I hope things look up for you soon, take care xx

  2. Clarissa October 3, 2011 at 22:58 #

    Think you ought to ask your quack honestly what to expect, and how it works. Also think about what has been going on recently that triggers you. Some theories talk about exploring the rationale of hallucinations and beliefs where safe to do so, especially challenging a hallucination, voice or belief that we know cannot be really there or real. Have you read the blog of A Schizophrenic and a Dog? Google it when possible and read her posts. She’s very articulate and bright, and knows a lot about medication and the crazies.

    Keep in touch and keep faith that you will get better in time.

    With lots of love.and hugs.

    C X

  3. cloud59 October 6, 2011 at 20:53 #

    I took Amisulpride for about three years. I didn’t find it helped with the voices in any way but I preferred it to the other antipsychotics I’ve been prescribed as it didn’t cause weight gain. The only side effect that I can remember from it was that my periods stopped. Apparently this is normal on Amisulpride.

    I hope the Amisulpride works for you and you will feel better soon.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,816 other followers

